About Us


Hours of Operation:
Most district offices are open
Monday through Friday
from 7:30 am to 4:30 pm.

The Memphis District is one of 45 districts in the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers. We are part of the Mississippi Valley Division. The Memphis District, along with the Vicksburg, New Orleans, St. Paul, Rock Island and St. Louis Districts fall under the division’s jurisdiction. The Division Headquarters is in Vicksburg, Miss.

The district covers a 25,000 square mile area of the Mississippi River. We serve customers in portions of Tennessee, Mississippi, Arkansas, Missouri, Illinois and Kentucky. Our customers also include 100 flood control districts, water resource and wildlife agencies from six states, four Port Commissions, the Lower Mississippi Valley Flood Control Association as well as eight Congressional Districts and 12 Senators.

We are responsible for maintaining and improving 355 miles of the Mississippi River main channel from Cairo, Illinois, to the mouth of the White River. We also maintain over 640 miles of mainline levees along the Mississippi River and its tributaries, 8 inland harbors and 254 miles of navigation channel on the White River in Arkansas.

We are housed in several locations throughout our vast district. The district headquarters are located in the Odell Horton Federal Building in the heart of downtown Memphis. We also have a river engineering and marine mooring facility at Ensley Engineer Yard, and field offices in Caruthersville, Mo. and Wynne, Ark.